Experienced, Dedicated Defense Attorneys
Springfield Multiple DWI Attorney
Multiple DWI Defense in Greene, Christian, Webster, Polk, and Dallas Counties
If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Missouri, you should know that Missouri law treats multiple DWI offenses much more harshly than a single DWI offense. If you have been convicted of multiple DWI offenses, you could be facing a lifetime driver's license suspension and a prison sentence of up to 15 years.
With such severe penalties at stake, it is absolutely imperative that you obtain the services of a skilled Springfield multiple DWI lawyer as soon as possible. Cole & Martin Attorneys at Law, LLC is here to help.
What Is Considered a DWI in Missouri?
In Missouri, a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) occurs when a person operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, or while under the influence of drugs or alcohol to the extent that it impairs their ability to safely operate a vehicle.
Missouri 2nd DWI Penalties
In Missouri, the penalties for a second DWI (driving while intoxicated) conviction within five years are more severe than for a first offense. Second DWI penalties can include:
- Up to one year in jail
- Fines of up to $1,000
- A license suspension of at least one year, with the possibility of restricted driving privileges
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for at least six months after license reinstatement
- Completion of a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP)
- Possible vehicle impoundment or forfeiture
In addition to the criminal penalties, a second DWI conviction can also have significant social and financial consequences, including increased insurance rates, difficulty finding employment, and damage to personal relationships. It's essential to consult with an experienced DWI attorney if you are facing second DWI charges to protect your rights and minimize the impact of the charges on your life.
Missouri 3rd DWI Penalties
In Missouri, a third DWI offense is considered a Class D Felony, which carries severe penalties. The penalties for a third DWI conviction include:
- Mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail, up to 4 years in prison
- Fine of up to $10,000
- Suspension of driver's license for 10 years
- Ignition interlock device required for a minimum of 6 months after driver's license is reinstated
- Completion of a substance abuse program
- Possible community service
The penalties for a third DWI conviction in Missouri are significantly harsher than those for a first or second offense. It is crucial to seek the help of an experienced DWI attorney if you are facing a third DWI charge in Missouri to mitigate the impact of these severe penalties.
Best Decision I've Ever Made!
“I haven’t always been the best at making good decisions. There was a time in my past where I repeatedly made mistakes. Ryan’s expertise of the law helped save my future.”
Shows true concern.
“Ryan has represented me in multiple counties. He is always straight forward, honest, face to face and punctual. Ryan will work for you on a personal level while showing true concern for your situation.”
An attorney that cares!
“He went out of his way to see me and made me feel like it's going to be OK!”
Some of the best in Southwest Missouri
“Very efficient and professional criminal defense team. If you need great attorneys, these guys are some of the best in Southwest Missouri.”
Free Case Consultations Provided
Strategies Customized to Your Case
Former Prosecutor In Your Corner
Backed By Over 40+ Years Of Experience